Himmelrich Associates, Inc., 2018
Founded in 1919, The Parker Metal Decorating Company was a pioneer of technical innovations in the metal lithography industry. Designs stamped on metal sheets became an essential component of Baltimore’s booming canning industry. The company was even responsible for the printing of the original Old Bay tin can. Parker Metal closed its doors in 1994, and the 50,000 square foot facility was recently transformed into commercial offices and event space. We designed new signage for the historic building inspired by its legacy.
The typography for the new signage was hand drawn to mimic the Art Deco lettering that was originally painted on the building.
Today the complex of early 20th-century warehouses is on the National Register of Historic Places. The site’s blend of restored, historical details and clean, contemporary lines is reflected in the steel sign at the main entrance.